On January 1, 2022, Minnesota’s minimum wage rates increased to $10.33 an hour for large employers and $8.42 an hour for other state minimum wages, including small employer, youth, and training wages. Large employers are employers with annual gross revenues of $500,000 or more. Small employers are employers with annual gross revenues of less than $500,000. The training wage rate is paid to employees younger than 20 years of age for the first 90 consecutive days of employment. The youth wage rate is paid to employees younger than 18 years of age.
The previous large employer minimum wage, which was $10.08, increased by 25 cents to $10.33. Other state minimum wages, including the small employer, youth, and training wages, as well as the summer work travel exchange visitor program wage, which were all $8.21, increased by 21 cents to $8.42. Roslyn Robertson, Department of Labor and Industry Commissioner, stated, “This increase is designed to help minimum-wage workers keep up with inflation to better provide for themselves and their families.”
Minnesota’s Employee Notice Requirement
Minnesota law requires employers to display state-mandated posters in a location where employees can easily see them, including one listing the new minimum wage rates. As part of Minnesota’s employee notice requirement, employers are required to provide each employee with a written notice of any change before the change takes effect, including a change to the employee’s rate of pay. The notice must contain required information about an employee’s employment status and terms of employment. The notice must include a statement that informs employees they may request the notice be provided to them in another language.
Higher Minimum Wages in Twin Cities
The state minimum wage rates do not apply to work performed in Minneapolis and St. Paul, which have higher minimum wage rates. Starting on July 1, 2022 in Minneapolis, small businesses with 100 or fewer employees must pay an hourly wage of $13.50 while large businesses with more than 100 employees must pay an hourly wage of $15.
Starting on July 1, 2022 in St. Paul, micro businesses with 5 or fewer employees must pay an hourly wage of $10.75, small businesses with 6 to 100 employees must pay an hourly wage of $12, large businesses with 101 to 10,000 employees must pay an hourly wage of $13.50, and macro businesses over 10,000 employees must pay an hourly wage of $15.
If you have a question regarding minimum wage in Minnesota, contact our Minnesota employment attorneys to discuss your employment situation. Our Minnesota employment lawyers will diligently fight to ensure that your rights are protected.